List of Amici Curiae

Donald B. Ayer

Deputy Attorney General in George H.W. Bush Administration (1989-1990)

Principal Deputy Solicitor General in Reagan Administration (1986-1988)

U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of California in Reagan Administration (1981-1986)

Steven G. Calabresi

Special Assistant to Attorney General Edwin Meese III in Reagan Administration (1985-1987) Chief Aide to Hon. T. Kenneth Cribb, Assistant to President Reagan for Domestic Affairs (1987)

John J. Farmer Jr.

New Jersey Attorney General, nominated by Governor Christine Todd Whitman (R) (1999-2002)

Chief Counsel to Governor Christine Todd Whitman (R) (1997-1999)

Deputy Chief Counsel to Governor Christine Todd Whitman (R) (1996-1997)

Assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of New Jersey (1990-1994)

Charles Fried

Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court, appointed by Governor William Weld (R) (1995-1999)

U.S. Solicitor General in Reagan Administration (1985-1989)

Special Assistant to the Attorney General in Reagan Administration (1984-1985)

Stuart M. Gerson

Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Division in George H.W. Bush and Clinton Administrations (1989-1993)

Assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of Columbia (1972-1975)

Acting Attorney General (1993)

Jonathan C. Rose

Assistant Attorney General at the Office of Legal Policy in Reagan Administration (1981-1984) Associate Deputy Attorney General in Nixon and Ford Administrations (1973-1975) Special Assistant to President Nixon (1971-1973)

Fern M. Smith

Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, nominated by President Reagan (1988-2005)

Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of San Francisco (1986-1988)

Stanley A. Twardy, Jr.

U.S. Attorney for the District of Connecticut in Reagan and George H.W. Bush Administrations (1985-1991)

William F. Weld

Governor of Massachusetts (R) (1991-1997)

Assistant Attorney General for the Criminal Division in Reagan Administration (1986-1988)

U.S. Attorney for the District of Massachusetts in Reagan Administration (1981-1986)